Exclusive, Interviews, Introduction, Music News, Producers, Q&A

[EXCLUSIVE] Interview | TruggaBeatz, the Producer behind Stevie Stone’s Hennessy & Harmony | @TruggaBeatz

Most times when artists drop hits, it’s all about the delivery. The flow. The lyrics. The artist. Let’s take a step back to appreciate the mastermind behind the music: the producer. I was given the opportunity to link up with and interview the producer behind “Hennessy & Harmony”, the fourth title track off Stevie Stone’s latest, Black Lion Segment: 2, Trugga Beatz, or better known to family & friends as Andre Galloway. The guy has skills, but don’t take it from me! He’s produced another track for Stone titled “Drip” & the beat goes crazy. From the melody to the drums, everything comes together like a dope form of euphoria. So, without further delay, I introduce to you, TruggaBeatz.

Trugga, hailing from Denver/Aurora, Colorado, has been making beats & producing since he was a kid. “About 15 years”, he states as I ask him how long he’s been in the game. “I focused on perfecting my craft & developing my own style, while trying my best to learn as much about the music industry’s business side & how everything works”. Which is understandable because you can’t jump into a field blind without knowing the ins & outs.

Getting to know Trugga a bit more & delving onward into the interview, I asked about the track, Hennessy & Harmonywhat’s the vibe like? “You can expect a dope beat with a bounce to it. Stevie Stone always comes through with some creative content. If I had to compare it to anything, think Stevie’s track Another Level.”

Stevie Stone’s Black Lion Segment: 2

Okay, so question of the day, how did you get linked up with Strange Music? “I worked on some collaborations with my guy, DJ Pain. He’s a multi platinum producer who works with quite a few major artists. I ended up posting the beat to my IG & I shared it to Stevie Stone & he commented on the video. Then I asked if he wanted to work. Not thinking he was gonna reply, a few days later he wrote back & said ‘let’s do it’ & sent over his email”.

So, I gotta ask, what’s it’s like working with Stevie? “It’s great actually. This industry is all about relationships & networking. I have only met him in person once, but we talk online & on the phone all the time. I’ve only worked with Strange Music for about a year and it’s been a nice journey & they’re very professional about how they operate. Stevie’s a real cool guy, easy to work with & we got a lot more hits in the tank!!”

I know you’ve got another song with him, too: “Drip”, from his Set in Stone album. What’s the energy like producing for the Strange Music crew? “Yea, “Drip” was my first placement with Strange Music. It’s produced by myself & my big bro 800 The Jewell from our production team, Time Signatures. I sent a lot of beats with different vibes & he happened to choose that beat! Then I got a call from one of Strange Music’s executives & we discussed contracts & everything I had to do to get it prepared for recording”.

Trugga speaks about the energy stating, “the energy is amazing to me. It’s so hard to gain people’s attention & I’ve listened to all those guys growing up & it’s just surreal that now I’m working with them. It’s a blessing & I thank God he put me in the position to be able to do this; it’s a huge achievement for me”.

So, what other artists have you worked with that we may/may not be (but should be) familiar with? “My lil bro (Colorado Myrical) & I have a label called Absolute Music Group – about 7 guys & I’m the in-house producer for them. He’s got songs with guys like Scotty ATL, Trae the Truth, & a new release called “Lil Find” featuring Dj Luke Nasty. All these are on YouTube.

I’m also working on American Idol’s top 10 artist, Jairon Jackson’s album. I have a single with him called, “Temptation. Oh & shout out to HTH (Home Town Heros) & an artist named JayKay (New Denver); I’m working with him on his album, too.”

TruggaBeatz

Any coveted artists you’d like to work with? “Good question!! I would love to work with Lil Baby or DaBaby, very both unique styles that fit what I can do; but seriously would like to work with anyone that’s on a serious come up; people who have a vision & the motivation to become one of the best, because that’s what I bring to the table. I want to become one of the best producers to ever exist.”

Trugga is defining hard work. With upcoming projects with Krizz Kaliko, JBLHood, Jehry Robinson, Maez301, Spaide the RIPPER, & more with Stevie Stone, of course; this guy’s work ethic is insane! “I’ll also be doing more beat collaborations with 808 Mafia, DJ Pain 1, Nard&B, BeatGodXL…just to name a few.”

Impressed yet? Before ending the interview, I asked him what advice he’d give to aspiring producers that have always wanted to make noise with major artists.

Your network equals your net worth. Build relationships. Connect. Invest in that promo & advertisement. Work & collab with others; & remember nothing happens overnight. Oh yeah! And don’t take NO for an answer!

Trugga on advice he’d give to aspiring producers

You can’t get more straightforward than that.

For artists wanting to network, you can contact Trugga via email at truggabeatz@gmail.com. You can connect with Trugga on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram as well. And for anyone wanting to check out more of his work, visit his BeatStars site here & his website, here.

So…you ready to listen to the heat?! You can officially stream “Hennessy & Harmony” on all digital streaming platforms right now; or, you could also just click here to check it out on YouTube. Enjoy! #YoureWelcomeInAdvance 😉

Until next time, follow The Underground Artistry to stay updated on all things ‘indie’. From the hottest artists to the producers behind the music, you’ll get the scoop here.

New artist introduction coming Tuesday – 2/25!

xoxo, Rachel Marie